Reviews

Reviews

Torchwood – Aliens Among Us, Part 2

Tony’s getting a classic Torchwood vibe.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – The Dying Room

By Tony J Fyler


~~~~~
Reviews


Torchwood – Aliens Among Us, Part 1

Tony holds up a sign saying ‘Aliens Welcome Here.’


~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood Corpse Day EO

Tony’s spending the year dead for tax reasons.

~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood The Dollhouse

By Tony J Fyler

This is not the Torchwood you’re looking for.


~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood – Visiting Hours

Tony’s in for more than a routine procedure.



~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood #3

Tony’s head’s spinning – just a little.

‘This is the part where you explain what I’m actually doing here, by the way.’

~~~~~

Reviews

They Keep Killing Suzie

Tony kills Suzie. Everyone else seems to be doing it.

~~~~~

Reviews

Random Shoes

Tony looks at his shoes.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – Greeks Bearing Gifts

Tony’s just popping to the gift shop.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood Outbreak


Tony’s breaking out all over.


~~~~~

Reviews

Small Worlds


Tony’s away with the fairies.

~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood #2

Tony stands around a bit, looking moody.

~~~~~

Reviews

The Torchwood Archive

Tony’s lost in the library.




~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – Made You Look

Tony’s hearing voices again


 ‘Oh great – stalked by a bashful Christopher Lee.’


~~~~~
Reviews

Torchwood #1

Tony gets his swagger on: 
Torchwood’s back in the hands of the Barrowman’s.


~~~~~
Reviews


Torchwood #2.5 – Broken

Tony’s broken after listening to the latest Torchwood audio.


~~~~~
Reviews


Torchwood: Moving Target

Tony Fyler takes aim.

‘I’m the target?’
‘Obviously.’
‘Why?!’
‘Why not?’
‘I haven’t done anything!’
‘No, but I’m sure you’ll be terrifically entertaining soon enough.’


~~~~~
Reviews


Children of Earth 

By DJ Forrest



~~~~~

Reviews

Torchwood – Zone 10

Tony packs his Ugg boots.


~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood – The Victorian Age


Tony yearns for some eminent Victorians.

~~~~~

Reviews
Torchwood Novel:

Long Time Dead

By DJ Forrest

~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood: More Than This

‘Mr Pugh, does that look even vaguely like a toy spider? No? Then put it back – gently. I don’t want to blow the arse off my car.’ Gwen Cooper

Tony ponders the infinite and the insignificant.

~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood 1.5 – Uncanny Valley

Tony’s fairly sure he lives in an uncanny valley




~~~~~



Torchwood: Forgotten Lives









The Conspiracy




Reviews


Torchwood Audio Reviews:

Fall To Earth




~~~~~
Reviews 


Big Finish

Torchwood: The Conspiracy

By DJ Forrest


~~~~~
Reviews


Fragments

Tony Fyler goes back in time.


~~~~~
Reviews


TW Review: Adrift

By Tony J Fyler




~~~~~
Reviews


From Out of the Rain Review


Everyone’s a critic, says Tony Fyler.




~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood Review

Something Borrowed

By


DJ Forrest


~~~~~
Reviews



The Sin Eaters

By Brian Minchin


Read by Gareth David-Lloyd
Reviewed by DJ Forrest
ISBN: 978-1-408-42621-0


~~~~~
Reviews



Up On The Roof

By DJ Forrest

‘When this old world starts getting me down
And people are just too much for me to face
I climb way up to the top of the stairs
And all my cares just drift right into space
On the roof, it's peaceful as can be
And there the world below can't bother me.’ -
James Taylor


~~~~~
Reviews


Dead Man Walking Review

By DJ Forrest





~~~~~
Reviews


Risk Assessment by James Goss

Reviewed by DJ Forrest
ISBN 978-1-846-07783-8

‘The Evening of a Long Day, in which the events of last night recounted, the seventh seal is broken, and our heroes encounter something quite remarkable.’




~~~~~
Reviews


Episode Reviews: To The Last Man
By DJ Forrest

Written by Helen Raynor
Directed by Andy Goddard
Reviewed by DJ Forrest
Broadcast 30th January 2008


~~~~~
Reviews


Trace Memory by David Llewellyn

Reviewed by DJ Forrest
ISBN: 978-1-846-07438-7
Published by BBC Books 2008




~~~~~

Reviews


“End of Days”
Review
By Patsy Newton-Carline

In 'Captain Jack Harkness' we visited the Ritz Palais de Danse - neither in 1941 or in the 'now' was it ever a dance hall - the Ritz has too much style and class!
Then we discovered the real 'Captain Jack Harkness', having a drink with his team and who else - our Jack, who has been here before and knows that by tomorrow night, the real Jack will be dead!
I found the relationship between the 2 Jacks to be both moving and enlightening - the real Jack finally acknowledging his sexuality, having found someone who understands, our Jack - they share, very publicly 



~~~~~

Reviews



Dancing At The Ritz with Captain Jack.
‘Captain Jack Harkness’ Episode Review
By Patsy Newton-Carline

The episode ' Captain Jack Harkness ' is one of my favourites - the revealing of more fascinating facts of the life of Captain Jack is always popular but to discover the real Captain Jack and in the romantic setting of the Ritz 'Palais de Danse' during the 1941 Cardiff blitz, with Jack and Tosh trapped on the wrong side of the rift, has all the ingredients of true drama - add to that Owen and Ianto battling over the right or wrong of trying to reopen the rift, given that Owen is thinking with his heart, (or possibly his trousers), and you just know this dish will turn into a right royal banquet!


~~~~~

Reviews


File 1: Black Water

Writer Steven Savile 
Torchwood
The Official Magazine Yearbook
Published by Titan Books
ISBN 9781845769369
First Edition August 2008
Reviewed by DJ Forrest

‘When a mysterious ship approaches Cardiff Bay, yet appears not to exist at all, the team are called to investigate...’



~~~~~

Reviews



Something in the Water
By Trevor Baxendale

Reviewed by DJ Forrest
Published by BBC Books
ISBN 978-1-846-07437-0


GP Bob Strong would be late for his own funeral; he was late for everything else in his life!  He was meant to be meeting Nurse Carrick on a date but never made it due to a flat tyre.  Today as usual he was late for work at Trynsel surgery, and to cap it all, his first morning appointment was with Saskia Harden!


~~~~~

Reviews



Torchwood: The Dead Line


by Phil Ford
Produced by BBC Audiobooks Ltd.
BBC Audio Published: 6 August 2009
Reviewed by Echo Fain


Apropos of the alien threat involved, this audio drama begins with a ringing phone.

Let's face it, Phil Ford is one of the best at what he does.  He tells a story that moves quick and without effort, mixing humor and drama with human sentiment in his own way.  The Dead Line could be considered formulaic with a script that uses two basic points of view to unpack its plot through two-voice scenes, but the formula is seamlessly used here to tell a story that would have been very exciting on the TV screen.


~~~~~

Reviews


Torchwood: SkyPoint


by Phil Ford
BBC Books, 2008.
ISBN: 978-1-846-07575-9
Reviewed by Echo Fain


Like replacing Cooper with Williams, the disappearances at SkyPoint don't sound kosher. 

Slotting nicely into the space behind the second series' episode, 'Something Borrowed', this story delves into the shady world of dirty money, untouchable criminals, urban growth, and aliens.  SkyPoint is fast paced, moving smoothly from scene to scene in a way that hints at the screen-writing skills of its author.  It never loses its pace and shows us poignant hints of deeper stories in the background of each member of the Torchwood Cardiff team.


~~~~~

Reviews

Fanvideo Review



Hello. I'm Doctor Owen Harper and---put that down, it's volatile. I don't know what it'll do to human skin but you should see what it did to the Weevil's. Jack thinks we might be able to weaponize it---you know, lessen the affect so that it becomes a warning shot instead of lethal.

So, you saw what happened with Suzie, I take it.  Yeah, that was as much fun as you can have around here.  Bringing back the dead.  Never a good idea. 

It's time to do fanvideo reviews again. 

But, let me explain the process first.  In case you're just now joining us.


~~~~~


Reviews



You, Me and Them
By Caroline Warboys - @CazieW

Features Eve Myles, Anthony Head, Jeff Rawle, Lindsay Duncan, Susie Blake, Daisy Beaumont, Marcus Garvey, Nigel Betts, Alice Felgate, Miller Henderson and Joshua McGuire.

Director Simon Hynd
Producers: Mark Kinsella, Angela Sinden, Jimmy Mulville, Helen Williams
Writer: Steve Turner
Format: PAL
Region: Region 2
DVD Release Date: 6 Jan 2014

UK TV Gold Channel at 9pm
Gold is a channel packed with the best of British comedy and sitcoms. Sky 110 Virgin 126.
Broadcast: Wed 23rd October 2013 - Wed 27th November 2013
Series: 1
Episodes: 6

Highly entertaining comedy about a chaotic family



~~~~~

Reviews


Richard II Review
By D J Forrest


On the 13th November, 2013, I attended my first ever Shakespeare Play, that was being broadcast LIVE from the RSC to local cinemas everywhere including my town.  It was fully booked, every seat taken, and oh so very warm.  It was a night to be educated and 

Read More Here
~~~~~

Reviews


‘Pressure Pad’ Review
By Mickie and Patricia Newton-Carline


Pressure Pad is a new week day afternoon BBC game show hosted by Torchwood’s very own John Barrowman. There are 25 episodes in all to be shown over 5 weeks. This isn’t John’s first outing hosting a game show as he hosted the BBC children’s game show ‘The Movie game’ back in the 90’s. But it is most certainly his first adult game show. So what is Pressure Pad?

Read More Here
~~~~~

Reviews

Fanvideo Review



Hello.  I'm Doctor Owen Harper and I'm here to tell you about Weevil Capture Safety Protocols.

No, I'm joking.  Come in and sit down, you're letting a draft in.

November has been a busy month around here.  We've had quite a lot to deal with, really.  I'm rather busy at the moment, as you can see.  Jack's got me doing inventory for not just the medical supplies but for the general office nonsense as well.  That's not my job, it's Ianto's or maybe Tosh's.  But that's not what you're interested in.  I can tell.  Your eyes just glazed over.

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews




TORCHWOOD
THE ENCYCLOPEDIA
THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE TO THE HIT TV SERIES
by Gary Russell
Published by BBC Books in 2009
Reviewed by Mickie Newton
aka Toshiko

When thinking of what I should review with regards to Gary Russell’s books I did think of Gary’s novel, ‘Twilights Streets,’ but the Encyclopedia seemed the most logical as it has become a kind of bible during my writing of my monthly column ‘Gadgets & Gizmos’.  In fact I would go as far as saying it has been a bible to most of the writers of Project: Torchwood.

This book covers three series of Torchwood and also covers four of the radio plays made for BBC Radio 4. In this tome you will encounter various gadgets, locations, episodes, aliens and people, be they main characters or those you see but for a fleeting moment, even The Doctor is mentioned and he’s not seen at all in Torchwood. The closest you get is hearing the sound of the TARDIS landing with its brakes on.

Read More Here



~~~~~

Reviews


Fanvideo Review



Hello.  Doctor Owen Harper, maybe at your service.  Come on in.    

I hope October has been a good month for you.  It's always an interesting time at the Hub.  Sometimes, we get cranks and fakes and have a good laugh about being spooked by rubber masks.  Currently, there's someone running around Cardiff pretending to be a Weevil.  We know it's a fake because of the zip in the back.

Gotcha.

So, it's time to do the fanvideo reviews again.  This seems to be my monthly task, above and beyond the call of duty. 

Don't say I didn't warn you.

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews



  




Torchwood: Exodus Code

Reviewed by D.J. Forrest
Written by John & Carole Barrowman
Hardback novel published in 2012 by BBC Books
ISBN 978-1-846-07907-8


     Jack’s head weighed a ton on his neck, his eyes wouldn’t stop watering, and every nerve in his skin was on fire.  Was he dreaming?  Even his hair seemed to hurt.  ‘I’ll do...some...some investigating, Renso.  I’ll return when I know more.’
   ‘I don’t know, amigo,’ said Renso, glancing at Jack, holding his stare for a beat. ‘Perhaps this isn’t a place you should ever return to.’
   ‘Why not?’
   ‘You look like shit.’


Read More Here



~~~~~




Reviews

Fanvid Reviews
by Echo Fain



Welcome back; pull up a chair.  I won't be but just a minute.  I've got this autopsy to wrap up.  I promised I'd have the report ready by tomorrow morning and I don't see why it has to be a scheduled issue. It's not as if anyone but Jack needs to see the report, right?

As I've said before, fanmade videos are a form of art like paintings, sketches, and fanfiction.  They may be only tributes to a character, a movie, or an episode, but they can also tell a story within the mix of lyrics, dialogue, and imagery.  Sometimes, those stories are time capsules which create a sort of portrait, but there are other fanvids which tell unique stories of their own. 

Each month we publish five videos found on Youtube which either encapsulate the month's featured episode, is a tribute to the team or a character or a relationship, or stand as a sort of video fanfiction.  During the month, we will post twelve fanvids to the Project: Torchwood Facebook page and you, as readers, can vote on the ones you think should make the final cut.  Vote on every one of them if you like, no one minds, but please do vote.  If you have comments about the fanvid, have at it---your words are valued.  Well, valued as much as anyone values words around here.

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews




Torchwood: Hidden
By Steven Savile


Reviewed by DJ Forrest
Narrated by Naoko Mori
Produced by AudioGo
Running time: 2hrs 30 mins
Number of CDs: 2
Release Date: 04/02/2008


Think like a scientist, it’s like a chain, it’s all sequential!



‘Hidden’ is a full team story, involving Jack, Ianto, Gwen, Owen and Toshiko, so it’s hardly surprising that Naoko/Toshiko is narrating, but given that it means that you know it’s going to be highly technical and a little bit over your head.  So pay attention!

Archaeological digs, helicopter crashes, high speed car chases, shoot outs in underground laboratories, and lots of technical data to analyse and riddles to solve.  If you thought this was going to be solved over a cuppa and a hobnob biscuit, think again! 

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews



The Undertaker’s Gift by Trevor Baxendale


Reviewed by DJ Forrest
Published in 2009 by BBC Books
ISBN 978-1-846-07782-1


The Hokrala Corp lawyers are angry with Earth and especially Captain Harkness and Torchwood for mishandling the 21st century, so an assassin has been sent to remove Jack.   The Hub is busy for this week, a translucent jelly blob that has a lethal electric charge is sitting on a bench in the cells, and a large number of aliens have been coming through the Rift.

A funeral cortege is seen in the dead of night with pallbearers guarding a rotting cadaver that doesn’t want to be buried.  Ianto Jones is desperately ill, Gwen finds herself trapped in a crypt, and three students have the worst few nights of their lives.

Just another normal week for Torchwood Three!

I heard a lot of negative comments regarding Jack and Ianto before I began reading the book.  I’d heard that both characters were played OOC (Out of Character) and that Jack wouldn’t have treated Ianto in the way he did.  So going on this basis and a few other complaints from fans I began reading. 

I’m not known for being a fast reader, most of the time I’ll read a few chapters at night and it’ll probably take me a fortnight to read a Torchwood novel.  When I started reading however, I couldn’t put it down.  I’d taken a couple of hours out to read in my busy day, and 35 pages in and I was on a rollercoaster of a ride that didn’t 

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews



The Men Who Sold the World
By Guy Adams


Prequel to Miracle Day
Published by BBC Books
ISBN 978-849-90285-4
Reviewed by D J Forrest


A CIA Special Activities Division squad goes rogue with a cargo marked ‘Torchwood’ that they’ve been escorting from somewhere called Cardiff.  A very special shipment the UK’s new coalition government was suspiciously keen to offload at almost any price.
The Agency puts Rex Matheson on the case.  But someone is obstructing him at every turn – each time he seems to be catching up with the rogue unit, something puts him off the trail.

From start to finish, The Men Who Sold the World had me gripped, I was turning pages like I was searching for the clues to the Holy Grail.  Every page I was hungry to read more, and at one point I was curious as to why I hadn’t seen or heard mention of Jack Harkness or Gwen Cooper, but interested to know why Rex was in a Torchwood novel when ideally we didn’t see him until Miracle Day. 

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews








The House That Jack Built
By Guy Adams



Reviewed by Mickie Newton
Published 2009 by BBC BOOKS
ISBN 978-1-846-07739-5



One of the many things I love about the Torchwood novels is that they're not just sci-fi, but very often horror as well and this excellent novel by Guy Adams most certainly doesn't disappoint in that area.

It's a simple story; young couple, Rob and Julia, live in a tiny flat. Julia's aunt dies. She inherits very old creepy house. Said young couple move into said creepy house. Creepy house tries to kill them and anyone who gets close.

As you can tell by my brief, but succinct description, this is no fairy tale. Even the Brothers Grimm would turn tail and run away screaming like frightened school girls.

This story is full of horror, no obvious aliens, but certainly gore, betrayal, love, sex, more gore and croquet mallets...did I mention gore?

But in all that, we still have the Torchwood team, or what is left of it; Jack, Gwen and Ianto. We still have all the madness and humour and Ianto's wonderful sarcastic quips. It is a beautifully told story that captures the essence of each of our heroes. But most of all it gives us more background to our main heroes past, the 



~~~~~

Reviews




Torchwood: The Bay of the Dead by Mark Morris



Reviewed by Mickie Newton
Published in 2009 by BBC Books
ISBN 978-1-846-07737-1


This is the 11th book in the series of Torchwood novels and was published in 2009.

What an incredible story. This is a book I just didn’t want to put down. Each chapter was a different scene, different people, and a different terrible situation and each page seeping blood, gore and fear!

Mark Morris has captured the characters individual personalities perfectly. As you read the story you can hear the characters voices in your head, or is that just me? Until we are close to the end of the novel our heroes are separated, due to the vast Zombie attack across Cardiff. Jack with Ianto and Gwen with her beloved Rhys! You also have Andy with his new partner Dawn!

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews


Fanvid Reviews




We'll make this short and sweet, shall we?

I'm Doctor Owen Harper.  I'm the team's medical officer and resident wit.

I'm here to talk to you about how to stay safe if you're out after midnight in Cardiff.

Advice: Don't be out after midnight in Cardiff.

I've been asked to tell you a little about fanvids and their value as art.  This is punishment for downloading RedTube videos onto the Hub servers.  Jack might think it's funny for a while but the moment Gwen sticks her nose in, I'm suddenly a pariah.

So, here we go.

Fanmade videos are a form of art like paintings, sketches, and fanfiction.  They may be only tributes to a character, a movie, or an episode, but they can also tell a story within the mix of lyrics, dialogue, and imagery.  Sometimes, those stories are time capsules which create a sort of portrait, but there are other fanvids which tell unique stories of their own. 

Each month, starting with September, we will publish five videos found on Youtube which either encapsulate the month's featured episode, is a tribute to the team or a character or a relationship, or stand as a sort of video fanfiction.  During the month, we will post twelve to fifteen fanvids to the Project: Torchwood Facebook page and you, as readers, can vote on the ones you think should make the final cut.  Vote on every one of them if you like, no one minds, but please do vote.  If you have comments about the fanvid, have at it---your words are valued.  Well, valued as much as anyone values words around here.

And with that in mind, let's begin.

Read More Here


~~~~~

Reviews




"Another Life" novel
written by Peter Anghelides




Reviewed by Dawn Christoffersen
Published in 2007 by BBC Books
ISBN 978-0-563-48653-4
Cover design by Lee Binding

  
Vagrants around Cardiff are found dead, their neck chewed through to the spine. A man throws himself off a building with no regard to his own life, uttering "See you soon" to Captain Jack Harkness. Only when he's falling to his death does he begin to scream in fear. Meanwhile at the military base nuclear fuel rods go missing, and it starts to rain, and rain, and rain. Somehow this is all connected, and it's up to Torchwood to find out what's going on before Cardiff drowns in a storm the city hasn't seen the likes of before.

Anghelides has a very assured way of writing. There really isn't any superfluous lines or paragraphs that make you fast forward or skim the pages. It's descriptive but has a steady forward moving plot all the way through. He also has a great grasp of the characters' voices and there is a great deal of funny banter and snark that's in line with the tv show. Especially Jack is spot on as he can be both charming and seemingly harsh.

The story takes place during the first few episodes of the tv show, specifically before Cyberwoman, and Gwen is still struggling with understanding and trusting him, which creates a nice bit of tension at times.

His writing style isn't expository, which I personally think is a huge plus, as it can often kill the 

Read More Here



~~~~~

Reviews





Torchwood - Army of One

Written by Ian Edginton
Read by Kai Owen
Audiobook
Running Time: 1hrs 10 mins
Publisher: AudioGo Ltd
Number of CD’s: 1
Release Date: 1/3/2013

This story centres on Gwen and Rhys who are holidaying in Washington DC.  After collecting money from the safety deposit box belonging to Torchwood funds, which are going to be given to Sarah Drummond, Rhys HAS to buy nappies for ‘her highness’ Anwen.  When he steps out of ‘Weissmuller’s’ shop into the ‘wet heat’, a red bee of light centres on his heart, then another and another and Washington DC’s finest law enforcement team descend on him, arrest him and bundle him off in the back of their troop carrier.  Gwen with Anwen puts a distance between her and Rhys in order to find out why he’s been arrested. 

Gwen has been suffering severe headaches much stronger than migraines and promises Rhys that she’ll have them checked out – later.  The headaches are linked to a creature known as ‘the cuckoo’ 

Read More Here

~~~~~


Reviews



The Mind’s Eye by James Goss


Issue #24
Torchwood Magazine
Reviewed by Kirsty Price
Artwork by Adrian Salmon

Being an avid reader, the title and Illustrations did not draw me in to read as I found them quite boring looking, the only thing I liked about the art was the fact that his drawing of Ianto actually looked like him, where the other drawings Adrian did of other characters looked nothing like them at all.  However reading the first paragraph I was instantly drawn in. The bravery of Ianto one of my favourite characters is offering to investigate an unknown school building in Canton.  The second paragraph at first gave the impression Ianto was visiting his local AA meeting, its only further on in the paragraph you realise it’s actually a meeting for poetry writers/lovers (which sounds mind numbingly boring to me) Ianto tries to fit in with a silly little poem which makes me chuckle, but it doesn’t work as everyone seems to stare at 

Read More Here


~~~~~~

Reviews







Torchwood: Almost Perfect


by James Goss
BBC Books, 2008.
Reviewed by Echo Fain




Somewhere between an attempted gender expression analysis and fanfiction is where you find that everything's 'Almost Perfect'.  Set after the end of the second series, it features a team who are meant to be missing Owen Harper and Toshiko Sato and struggling to function short-handed. 

Combine body swapping and the skeletons of people who haven't died yet with two gay aliens who own a nightclub they're using as a Duracell and give them a sexual connection to Jack Harkness.  Then, add the desperate thirty year old office worker who is trying to change herself for the better and an alien device that talks to its users in the voice they are most likely to trust.  In the background, put in a dodgy miracle cure for all your medical woes, a mysterious ferry crash, and the human social need for perfection, and you've got a wonderful plot. 

Only in science fiction is a body swap or gender switch ever made plausible and, like a large slice of science fiction, the book is about more than just the thrill of the unlikely, the unknown, and the taboo.  There are any number of social issues involved in a dissection of what it means to be male, female, gay or straight, and unfortunately very few of them are touched upon here.  The book is entirely too short at two hundred and fifty pages to fully explore the topic and that's a shame because it holds great potential for such; in many places, the reader is left to guess at the characters' reactions because the 

Read More Here
~~~~~


Reviews




Mr Invincible
by Mark Morris
Read by Tom Price
Produced by AudioGo Ltd
Running time 1hr 3min
Number of CD’s: 1
Release Date: 1/6/2012

     The first thing you notice about this story is that Captain Jack Harkness does not have an American accent.  And the narrator doesn’t have a Welsh one, but when you get passed these two issues, the story is fantastic, Mr Invincible comes across like an overage, over weight Mr Muscle, and Captain Jack along with Sgt Andy, (remember this is after the Miracle) have to solve the case of people ageing before people’s eyes, or being thrown back into childhood. Time is shifting and changing all the time, people are ageing and dying and decomposing in front of others.
     Mark Morris, writer of ‘Bay of The Dead’ amongst other titles has us captivated from the first introduction.  When Ross Chapman is shot several times by a would be robber in the petrol station where he works, something is seriously going on, and when Chapman becomes Mr Invincible, a super 

Read More Here
~~~~~


Reviews
Ghost Train written by James Goss





Read by Kai Owen
Published by AudioGo Ltd
Release date: 1st March 2011
Reviewed by D.J. ~Jack~ Forrest 

There’s something strange falling from the skies and Torchwood are dealing, but there are also some strange occurrences at Harwood’s Haulage in the shape of fridges.  It’s not just Rhys who’s noticed.  But can he get a moment to talk to his wife Gwen about it, because with the strange occurrences there’s also the train that shouldn’t be arriving on Platform One, and while Gwen has to deal with a matter regarding her husband, Captain Jack Harkness also goes missing.

So Rhys becomes Sherlock Holmes and does a little deducing of his own. 

It’s a fascinating and often funny story that has all the qualities you expect from a Torchwood story with the added quality of Rhys 

Read More Here
~~~~~


Reviews

The Baby Farmers by David Llewellyn
Reviewed by DJ Forrest 




The story begins in the late 1800’s, during the era of Emily Holroyd, Alice Guppy and Charles Gaskell.  Jack Harkness is still freelance, and Emily for the time being has been delayed and a message has come for her to meet a particular gentleman with a white carnation in his lapel in a musical theatre, with relation to a matter of most urgency.  Unable to locate Emily, Jack insisted that he went to meet the gentleman.  Then Jack too disappeared.  Emily later reappeared after finding a book with a slip of paper from an old rundown building, during an investigation – Torchwood matters.  It seemed with some urgency she had to replace it in the library of the Cardiff University.

The story also centres around a ramshackle school, the HMS Hades, a hospital ship run aground in the mud flaps on the 

Read More Here
~~~~~



Reviews
Sarah Pinborough – Kaleidoscope
Review by Steve Taylor-Bryant
TheCultDen




To say it was a pleasure to review this story would be an understatement. I like Sarah Pinborough's writing and she is one of only a handful that really "gets" Torchwood, and possibly the best candidate to write a non Captain Jack piece.

Set after Jack’s disappearance at the end of Season One we find a Torchwood in disarray, with no leader and alien technology issues. The team must keep the rift stable, pick a leader to replace the much missed Captain, and investigate a piece of tech that has given a young man named Danny the perfect life.

This story is very dark in tone and that is a good thing. My favourite Torchwood episodes are the dark ones, the ones full of

Read More Here


~~~~~


Reviews


The Wrong Hands by Andrew Cartmel

Reviewed by DJ Forrest




The Wrong Hands begins in the Police mortuary where the body of Rhett Seyers lies in two parts, on two tables.  It’s a precise cut, across the middle, cauterised.  Initial thoughts from the police were that he’d been killed elsewhere, drained of blood and then transported back to Happy Price supermarket on the Machen Estate, named after Arthur Machen, Welsh horror and fantasy writer, whose biggest fan was Aleister Crowley.  But Jack Harkness has a feeling that whatever did this was most certainly something from off planet.  But who would have a weapon that could do something like this, and Rhett was definitely not the first.
The enjoyable thing about Torchwood is that we already know the characters, so we can imagine the look on Jack’s face, the curt look on Gwen’s as she quells her desire to be sick at the sight of the severed body in the badly air conditioned room.  The commentary between the pair is witty and as you expect, both of them are chatting like siblings with just a hint of flirting from 

Read More Here


~~~~~



Reviews

Virus by James Moran 

reviewed by Dawn Christoffersen.





"Virus" is the fourth short story in the Torchwood book "Consequences", a collection of five different stories that are all linked. Some take place many years apart but what happens in one story may have consequences that we read about in the next.

"Virus" picks up immediately after the third story. Without revealing too much, the Torchwood team has managed to sorely piss off an alien. As an act of revenge it poisons Jack and Gwen and it's now up to Ianto to find a cure before time runs out for his friends.

Anyone familiar with James Moran's writing, from his Doctor Who episode "The Fires of Pompeii" to his horror comedies, 

Read More Here
~~~~~



Reviews
Consequences by Joseph Lidster


Nina Rogers has been involved in a lot of the stories throughout the various books but it wasn’t until I’d finished reading ‘Bay of the Dead’ by Mark Morris that I started to see a pattern.  It’s like watching a DVD or playing a computer game and discovering an Easter Egg. 
Nina rents a room from Rianne Kilkenny the nurse who we first met in ‘Bay of the Dead’.  Nina seems to spend a lot of her time getting drunk, but if you consider all that has occurred in and around Nina’s life, I’d imagine you too would hit the bottle 

Read More Here


~~~~~



Reviews


Red Skies by Joseph Lidster
Reviewed by Steve Taylor-Bryant

“Praise be to Torchwood.”

Read by John Telfer




Red Skies is a Torchwood Audio Drama from the pen of Joseph Lidster (The Sarah Jane Adventures, Wizards vs. Aliens).
Set After Miracle Day, we find Captain Jack in desperate need of a holiday. He heads for Cotter Paluni's World, a planet



Read More Here


~~~~~


Lost Souls by Joseph Lidster

Reviewed by Steve Taylor-Bryant
of TheCultDen



Produced and directed by
Kate McAll
First broadcast
BBC Radio Wales, 19 January 2008



Continuing on from the end of season 2, we find a team in mourning. Despite protestations of being fine the team are really struggling to come to terms with the loss of Owen Harper and Toshiko Sato

The Torchwood team and Martha face danger at CERN in this special BBC Radio episode, starring John Barrowman, Eve Myles, Gareth David-Lloyd and Freema Agyeman. Following the tragic deaths of two of their colleagues, only Captain Jack Harkness, Gwen Cooper and Ianto Jones remain of 


Read More Here



~~~~~


Reviews
Audio books review

Reviewed by Echo Fain 


Torchwood: In the Shadows
by Joseph Lidster
Produced by Heavy Entertainment
BBC Audio release 7 May 2009
read by Eve Myles




'Ring-a-ring-a-roses, a pocket full of posies.  A-tishoo!  A- tishoo!  We all fall down.'

Set between the second series' episodes of 'Meat' and 'Reset', the audio book of 'In the Shadows' sees the Cardiff Hub team once more facing the afterlife question.  Is there nothing beyond death but a black and lonely void or is there something moving in the dark?  Either of these might be preferable to what waits in the shadows.

Narrated by Eve Myles, best known to fans as Gwen Cooper, this audio production is, at two and a half hours long, fast-paced action from the start while still giving small, intimate glimpses into the minds and hearts of its characters.  We are both 

Read More Here


~~~~~

No comments:

Post a Comment